Basic Tofu Scramble

It’s Tuesday and I’m going to take things easy. Often at the beginning of the week, I work so hard, I’m burned out by Wednesday and find it hard to regroup. I do this with prep over the weekend (laundry, cooking, cleaning, blog writing) then full force into the work week. By Wednesday, I want it to be Friday. By Friday I wish I could speed up the clock until 5:30pm, and by most Friday nights at 8pm, I’m passed out on the coach.

Slowing it down can mean a lot of things. It can mean saying ‘no’ a bit more often. It can mean giving yourself a break when you need one, and it can also be re-assessing your basic needs and bringing it back to what is essential.

The Zombie Survival Guide

Following this train of thought, I thought it would be good to get back to the basics of vegetarian cooking. Simple recipes that take you no time that can morph into multiple delicious things. Take this tofu scramble – it has minimal ingredients, packs a punch full or protein and nutrients and takes about 8 minutes to prepare. You can serve it with whole grain toast for breakfast. Mix it with some veganaise and have an ‘egg salad’ sandwich for lunch, or roast some veggies and serve it as your protein for supper.

This recipe can be totally customized to your taste, I went with a pretty generic seasoning so it could be adapted easily and (most likely) made with what you already have on hand. I’ve always found that if you want vegetables in your tofu scramble it’s best to cook them separately. Otherwise the tofu will retain too much moisture. Roasted broccoli and cauliflower would be an excellent add-in. Fresh tomatoes are best served on the side or mixed in right before serving so they maintain their texture. Greens such as spinach should be served fresh as a side salad or if you want it cooked, add it at the very end and let wilt before serving. Kale can be an exception and can be fried with the tofu, as long as it’s been washed, trimmed, cut into bite sized pieces and dried well before adding to the pan. Makes four servings.

Tofu Scramble

Basic Tofu Scramble

  • 1 block of firm of drained and patted dry
  • 2 tbs olive oil ( start with one tbs in the pan add more if needed up to 2 tbs)
  • 1 tsp of turmeric
  • 1 tsp red chili flakes
  • 2 tsp of poultry seasoning
  • 3 tbs of nutritional yeast
  • salt and pepper to taste

Method

Remove the tofu from its packaging and rinse and dry.

In a large skillet heat oil over medium high heat. Once the oil is ready, crumble the tofu into the pan. Add turmeric, chili flakes and poultry seasoning and stir fry for about 5 minutes.

Add nutritional yeast and season liberally with freshly ground pepper and sea salt. Fry an additional 3-5 minutes, the tofu should be around the texture of scrambled eggs. Serve immediately, or let cool completely and store in the refrigerator for up to 5 days.

Tofu Scramble 2

4 thoughts on “Basic Tofu Scramble

  1. Amy!
    I’m new to your blog, and I knew I found a sister when I saw your zombie book displayed! I am vegetarian for over 20 years, trying to go vegan, and I love zombies. Just this morning finished reading World War Z. I have numerous cookbooks, but I’m always looking for something new to try. I’m looking forward to following your blog.
    Your sister on the prairies,
    Melany

  2. Pingback: N is for… | V-Spot

Tell me what you think!

