Stout Lentil Loaf

Whoa it’s mid-March, I’ve yet to do a March post which seem unreal and a little unfair. You need new recipes as much as I do right now.  I have enthusiastically fallen into a routine eating pattern that hasn’t involved much creativity. I’ve been focusing on clean eating for energy and health, as the winter has left me lethargic and grumpy.

I still have yet to replace my camera battery charger but luckily I still have a bit of a battery life, at least for now.  On a positive note, this slower blog pace means I have a ton to talk about, so pardon my monologue . I just celebrated three years with my significant other (yay!), it always amazes me how I feel like I’ve know him longer than three years but still feel the freshness of love. 

Garrison Stout

This weekend I went to the market and it hit me, it’s verging on Spring! Field greens, basil and fresh herbs lined the shelves, even so, things were kind of empty. In the coming weeks asparagus and brussels will be studding the empty spaces and in general the market will yield more produce. There were beets everywhere, I like beets enough, especially if they are roasted, but I didn’t feel like having pink hands all weekend.

Spring ahead, and hello time change, see what I did there? I’m excited for the longer days but I sure was sleepy this Monday morning, and my dogs are still very confused. Their yawning bodies and squinting eyes meandered into the kitchen and sat spent, like wilted tulips until they were hinged to their respective leashes. The clank of hooking their collars was like doggy coffee, then they proceeded to waste my precious morning time sniffing lackadaisically instead of doing their ‘bidness’.

Martello Stout

I’m now addicted to Downton Abbey, I may have spent about 12-13 hours watching ti this weekend. Mind you I fit it into my morning cleaning time of the kitchen; I have never washed the dishes so slow in my life.

Ready for food yet? Me too. In honor of St. Patrick’s day I wanted to make something with stout beer and I couldn’t be happier with my experiment. This lentil loaf is not just stout in stature, it’s filled with the hoppy smooth flavour of local craft beer. The stout adds color and depth of flavour to the lentils which are mixed in with other seeds, grains and oats making this an extremely filling and chocked full of protein meal. I added some heat with jalapenos and sriracha then mixed up a sweet and spicy glaze to top it off. Speaking of which, I encourage you to triple or quadruple the glaze recipe for extra dipping. This loaf isn’t vegan as I’ve added an egg to help bind the mixture together but if you use a food processor to grind up the oats and lentils separately I think it would hold together just as well. If you are vegan and try something similar let me know how it works out!

Stout Lentil Loaf

Stout Lentil Loaf

stout lentils

  • 2/3 cup of yellow split peas, rinsed and picked through
  • 1 500ml bottle of stout minus a few sips (I used Martello Stout by Garrison)
  • 1 cups of water
  • 1 tbs sriracha
  • 1/3 cup of red lentils (plus 2/3-1 cup of water)

sauteed onions

  • 1 tbs of oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 4 cloves of garlic, peeled and minced
  • 1 jalapeno, minced
  • 1 tbs poultry seasoning
  • 1 tsp garlic salt
  • 1 tbs Italian seasoning
  • salt and pepper

completing the loaf

  • 1 cup of cooked quinoa
  • 1/3 cup of sunflower seeds
  • 1/3 cup of large flakes of oats
  • 2 tbs of nutritional yeast
  • 1 tbs flax seed
  • 1 tbs Dijon mustard
  • 1 egg, whisked

glaze

  • 2 tbs ketchup
  • 1 tbs brown miso paste
  • 1 tbs maple syrup
  • 1 tsp sriracha
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp of apple cider vinegar
  • garlic salt

Method

Cook the quinoa according to package direction and set aside. You could cook the quinoa in vegetable broth but since I was cooking turnip at the same time, I used the water from the cooked turnip to gently flavour the quinoa.

Stout and Lentils

Rinse and pick through the split peas, add to a medium-sized pot with the stout beer, one cup of water and sriracha. Boil until the split peas are softened, about 20-25 minutes. Add in rinsed red lentils and another 2/3-1 cup of water, cook for about 10 more minutes. When red lentils are cooked through reduce heat until most of the water has been spent, leave to cool for about 30 minutes.

Dice the onions, mince the jalapenos and garlic and set aside. To a fry pan, add 1 tablespoon of olive oil and heat over medium heat.  Add onions and season with poultry seasoning, garlic salt, Italian seasoning and salt and pepper. Cook for about 5 minutes and then add jalapenos and garlic stirring frequently for about 2-3 more minutes. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl add cooled lentils, sauteed onions and jalapenos, cooked quinoa, sunflower seeds, oats, nutritional yeast, flax seeds, Dijon mustard. Check for seasoning and then add in the whisked egg. Mix until everything is even and combined.

You've been Loafed

Pre-heat the oven at 350. Prepare a loaf pan with cooking spray and parchment.

Add contents to loaf pan and smooth over the top. Bake for 10 minutes, and while the loaf is in the oven prepare the glaze by adding all ingredients and mixing until smooth.

Getting Saucy

Remove the loaf from the oven and smooth all the glaze unto the loaf. Bake for another 35-40 minutes.

Spice and Stout Lentil Loaf

Remove from the oven and let cool about 10 minutes or more before slicing. Serve with turnip, mashed potatoes or roasted cauliflower and extra glaze.

Cut and Serve

4 thoughts on “Stout Lentil Loaf

  1. Pingback: L is for … | V-Spot

  2. Pingback: O is for… | V-Spot

  3. Pingback: P is for… | V-Spot

  4. Pingback: Q is for… | V-Spot

Tell me what you think!

