Pan-fried Asparagus

It often takes me a few days, sometimes weeks, to write one blog post. Revisions happen often, and sometimes, whole recipes are scrapped without anything to take their places.

Last week when thinking of an introduction for an asparagus recipe,  I had wrote:

‘I feel Spring approaching. The days are longer, the temperature warmer with the nip of winters bite left in the wind. The sun seems closer and asparagus is popping up everywhere.’

Today is the first day of Spring and we got pounded with a flippin’ snow storm. My prematurely optimistic views on that fancy warmer weather dwindled and died about 10 seconds upon waking to the sound of snow plows.

Beautiful Mess

I waited for the bus for about thirty minutes. It couldn’t pull over street-side because of the snow banks, so it just stopped in the middle of the street and we had to hike over the grey bottomed hills to reach its gates. The bus was packed with freezing commuters. Standing room only means loads of shifting back and forth when passengers need to depart or get on. I was by the back door, which meant at every stop I got a gust of cold air, but I was happy be to on the move and periodically warm at least. The downside of my position was that I had to stare at an advertisement (paid for with our tax dollars I might add) that depicted a woman, killed, in a cross walk with a phone in the foreground. The tag line read something to the effect of – distractions can be fatal, safety is a combined effort.  The woman was in the cross walk, and in Nova Scotia, she has the right of way! I agree with the idea that you should be looking where you are going but the image tried to persuaded the viewer to blame the pedestrian for their carelessness, or at least that they should accept some responsibility  Dear driver in the photo, do you not see the 5’5″ 150 lbs lady in a marked cross walk? In case you need a refresher, you are also required to stop at any intersection by law.

I rushed to get ready this morning as with snow comes late buses. Minimal makeup, pre-made lunch, jeans and a hoodie, my hair was not straightened, I didn’t care, I was not going to be late for work. It’s funny what people notice, no complements were given for being on time today, but I was told, I looked a little haggard.

Today has been a tiring Wednesday and I needed a simple recipe. That recipe is this perfectly pan-fried, super-tasty asparagus. It will take you less than ten minutes to prepare. It serves as a great side dish, or when topped with an egg, makes a great low-carb supper.

Asparagus

Pan-fried Asparagus

  • 1 bunch of asparagus
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tbs butter or margarine
  • 1 small garlic clove, peeled and minced finely
  • 1 tbs grainy mustard

Method

Wash and trim the ends off the asparagus.

Heat oil over medium in a non-stick skillet. Add asparagus and stir fry about 3-5 minutes until just tender.

Add garlic, butter making sure all the asparagus gets coated. Add mustard and toss or turn asparagus until all of it is covered evenly. Season with salt and pepper and serve immediately.

Major Players

*This recipe works best with thinner asparagus  If you use a thicker kind be sure to cut enough of the ends off and adjust the cooking time.

Egg Over Asparagus

Tell me what you think!

