Tomato Olive Bruschetta for One

Hey Guys!

It’s been awhile, I know. I’ve missed you. I have been living a plain-jane life, eating very clean and healthy and running with my dogs.

I finally have my camera battery replaced and sunlight is back in my life (Nova Scotia had some tiresome rainy cold days last month) so I figured I would end the hiatus with a super simple open-faced sandwich for one.

The thing I love about Italian food is that they let the ingredients speak for themselves. While you don’t need a lot of anything one thing for this recipe, the quality of the ingredients matter.

Basil

I used a French bakery ‘belge’ which is really great for toast and sandwiches as its super crusty on the outside but mildly sour and really chewy on the inside. When toasted it’s very crisp and can stand up to the weight of the tomatoes.

I used a local tomato, imported black olives, locally grown basil and a good olive oil and vinegar. Simple stuff.

Eating this open-faced tomato sandwich and calling it bruschetta for one, seems as elegant as a perfect summers day. Fancify your life. Serves one.

Tomato Olive Bruschetta

Tomato Olive Bruschetta for One

  • 1 medium-sized ripe tomato, seeded and diced
  • 3-4 black olives pitted and diced
  • a few leaves of basil, torn
  • 1 tsp of balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp of olive oil
  • 1 clove of garlic, peeled and trimmed
  • 1 slice of crust white bread, toasted

Method

Wash, seed and dice the tomato and place in a small bowl. Pit and dice the olives and add to the tomatoes.

Trio

Stem and then tear the basil into smaller pieces, adding to the bowl with balsamic and olive oil. Toss and season with salt and pepper.

Dressed to Impress

Peel a garlic clove and cut off the top of it so it has a flat edge. Toast the bread and once it’s well toasted, rub the raw garlic over the top of the bread.

Toast and Raw Garlic

Pile the bruschetta onto the toast. Serve immediately with a glass of white wine.

Styling and Profiling

2 thoughts on “Tomato Olive Bruschetta for One

Tell me what you think!

