Sweet Potato and Carrot Bisque

Yesterday I thought it would be a great idea to do a post for the last official day of Summer. I decided early in the morning that living for the last day of Summer (preferably outside) would be better than sitting inside the house lamenting about its passing. It was a beautiful weekend with high temperatures and the sun shining brightly. I started making soup and then decided that while my place was still full of light I’d ring in Fall with a soup post.

Saturday was spent at the local farmer’s market and I picked up tons of fresh produce including some gorgeous sweet potatoes. I should have taken a picture or two to share with you but deciding to make the post was so late minute. Basically I prepped all the veggies and started cooking and realized I should have taken pictures. I tried to convince myself this soup wouldn’t be blog-worthy but I was wrong. It turned out fantastic and I had to share.

Sweet Potato Carrot Bisque

Usually bisques have tons of cream and shellfish that produce a extremely flavourful complex and creamy soup. To get the same texture but made vegan and healthier,  I sautéed local onions and celery in olive oil with cumin and cinnamon and added in organic baby carrots and gorgeous sweet potatoes. I simmered it all in organic vegetable broth until everything was tender then whizzed it all up with almond-coconut milk and tahini paste which made it extra smooth and creamy.This spicy sweet, thick and creamy soup is perfect match for the first day of Fall. In case you are like me and watching what you eat you’ll be happy to know that this soup makes four servings at about 205 calories per serving. To me that means I can have my soup and drink wine too. Enjoy!

Smooth and Delicious

Sweet Potato and Carrot Bisque

  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 1 tsp of ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp of cinnamon
  • chili flakes to taste (optional)
  • 2 cups of baby carrots (12 oz/345g)
  • 3 small or 2 medium sweet potatoes, washed peeled and cut into chunks
  • 1/2 a small jalapeno, cut into pieces
  • 1 large clove of garlic, peeled and cut into quarters
  • 4 cups (1 container) of organic vegetable broth
  • 1 cup of unsweetened almond (coconut or soy) milk
  • 1+1/2-2 tbs of tahini paste
  • salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

Method

Peel onions and roughly chop. Wash and trim celery and cut into 1 inch pieces.

Heat a 4 quart stock pot over medium high heat. Add olive oil, onions and celery and cook for 2-3 minutes. Sprinkle with cumin, cinnamon and a pinch of chili flakes, cook until the onions begin to brown and the spices start to stick to the bottom. Add in the peeled and washed baby carrots and stir well. Season with salt and pepper and let cook for another 2-3 minutes. Add in sweet potatoes, garlic and jalapeno and cover with vegetable stock.

Bring the soup to a boil and cook over medium high heat until the carrots and potatoes are tender, about 12 minutes. Remove from heat and add the almond milk and tahini paste and puree using a blender/hand blender until completely smooth.  Season with salt and pepper to taste. Serve warm.

Dig in

One thought on “Sweet Potato and Carrot Bisque

  1. Pingback: Wild Rose Cleanse; the Mid-point Update | V-Spot

Tell me what you think!

