Green Soup with Maple-Dijon Roasted Brussel Sprouts and Leeks

It’s the end of October; I have no clue who placed me in a time travel machine, but when I find out they are going to have some explaining to do. It seems like just yesterday I was writing my review of the Port of Wines fest. You will be proud I’ve only tucked into one bottle and have my review started, but I wanted to bring you some food posts first so you aren’t too tipsy before the week is over. Just looking out for you.

We’ve been having beautiful Fall weather all of October and today its a rainy mess. I was going to get a new surging needle so I can finish up my dogs and my Halloween costume, I know I’m ridiculous but it’s my favorite holiday. I ended up sleeping in and when I woke up I changed plans and made soup. Saturday I had bought all greens from the market and my plan was to make a super-delicious roasted brussel sprout recipe. Since they are in season I’m finding I’m roasting them one way or the other every weekend; they have yet to find their way into my lunches. After doing some general internet browsing I realized that next to pumpkin, brussel sprout recipes are taking over food blogs mainly as side dishes to your main meal. While my roasted sprouts would make a glorious side, I wanted it to be a centre piece so I made a soup and used them to garnish.

Green Soup with Roasted Brussel Sprouts and LeeksMy farmer’s market finds ended up all in one bowl. Tiny cabbages just roasted with leeks and olive oil, dressed in sweet maple Dijon and baked again until caramelized. A simple soup base is made with leeks and other green vegetables, finished with fresh basil and tahini. What makes it superb it the combo, creamy subtly flavored green soup with sweet and flavorful brussel sprouts and crispy leeks. 

Green Soup with Roasted Brussels and LeeksGreen Soup with Maple Dijon Roasted Brussel Sprouts and Leeks

Roasted Brussels Sprouts and leeks

  • 1 leek; trimmed, washed, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 1 pint ( 2 cups chopped) of fresh brussel sprouts, trimmed, rinsed and cut in half length-wise
  • 1+1/2 tbs of olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

dressing

  • 1 tbs of each smooth Dijon mustard and pure maple syrup

Green Soup

  • 3 leeks; trimmed, washed, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 1/2 green or yellow pepper cut into chunks
  • 2 stalks of celery, rinsed, trimmed and diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, peeled, trimmed and roughly chopped
  • 1/2 small white onion, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 2 tbs of olive oil
  • 1 tsp ground sage
  • 1/4 garlic powder
  • 900ml container of organic vegetable broth
  • 1/2 cup of unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tbs tahini paste
  • 1 tbs Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 cup of fresh and 1 tsp dried basil
  • salt and pepper
  • extra tahini for garnish

Method

Pre-heat the oven to 350.

Prepare all the vegetables and separate according to the ingredients for each recipes above.

Leeks*Leeks – If you have never cooked with leeks before be aware they harbor dirt and can ruin your soup if they are not properly rinsed. It’s good practice to rinse and cut your leeks then rinse them again. Some sources will say to soak in water for a few minutes to let the grit fall tot he bottom, as leeks will float. Make sure however you choose to wash them that you dry them well afterwards, otherwise they will not caramelize as well when roasting or sauteing.

Leek and Brussel Close-upRoasted Brussels and Leeks

Toss the prepare vegetables in half the olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Use the remaining oil on the cookie sheet/baking dish you plan to use to roast them. Turn the veggies unto the pan and cook for about 10-12 minutes. The leeks should be soft but the brussels should be slightly undercooked and starting to brown.

Mid-RoastMix the dressing (equal parts Dijon and maple syrup) and dress the veggies while warm.

Maple-Dijon DressingReturn them to the oven for an additional 5-8 minutes. They should caramelize and cook through but not be mush. The leeks should separate and become crispy strands. Remove from the oven while you finish the soup.

Steamy Dressed Brussels and LeeksGreen Soup

Once you get the brussel sprouts in the oven, heat olive oil in a stock pot over medium heat. Add all remaining vegetables, sage and salt and pepper and really let them cook down. You want to get a good caramelization on the bottom of the pan which will take about 12-15 minutes. Add stock and bring to a slow boil. Add fresh basil, dried basil garlic powder.

Using a hand blender, blend until completely smooth, add almond milk, tahini and Dijon. Taste and season with more salt and pepper. You don’t want to over season the base of this soup otherwise it will over power the brussel sprouts which should be the star. If it seems a little bland at this stage don’t worry.

Finish

Setting the StageDish out soup, drizzle tahini over the top. Carefully arrange roasted leeks and brussels and serve. Enjoy!

Enjoy!

Tell me what you think!

